CMC Art Tour

With the craziness that is our daily life here on planet earth lately, I have not been engaging my usual hobby of exploring the High Desert in my free time. However, my desire to share the wonderfull place I call home has not diminished. When an unexpected power outage at my place of work had me checking up on the various peices of equipment around campus, I took advantage of the situation and took some photos of my favorite art installations which we are blessed with at Copper Mountain College.

While I am in no way associated with the art department at CMC, I am a fan, having been raised in a community that takes pride in its role in nurturing artists and free thinking individuals. The desert tends to encourage creativity, introspection and soul searching. The college itself was founded and built with funds from residents of the Morongo Basin, some of those residents were artists and donated works are very prominent on campus. The following is just a sample of my favorites. Enjoy.

“Roadrunners” by Howard Pierce.

The original entrance sign, also by Howard Pierce
“Copper Mountain College GeoKinetic” by Steven L. Rieman
“Desert Flowers” by Terry Waite
“Desert Flowers” by Terry Waite
“Echinocactus Oxygonus” by Terry Waite
Sculpture by Simi Dabah
Simi Dabah
Simi Dabah
Sculpture Garden with many Simi Dabah works
Simi Dabah

2 responses to “CMC Art Tour”

  1. Nice post Brian !

  2. robertandsandra Avatar
    robertandsandra

    Nice. Art is fantastic. Good to share.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.